Tags

, , , ,

So I’ve been playing ‘Skyrim’ for over 90 hours now, my character is a level 54 Nord named Tarmok and I have completed all the major questlines. I have not experienced as many issues with the game as other people have, but I will make a few observations:

  • The story is as unentertaining as ever, but that’s really not the part of the game that you’re laying down your money for. It would be like complaining about the lack of character development in the ‘Fast and Furious’ franchise. The gameplay, as expected, is fucking awesome.
  • I started and completed the Companions questline very early in the game, in which (SPOILER) I became a werewolf and eventually cured my lycanthropy. The problem being, as far as the system is concerned, the days that I have been a werewolf continue to increase. This means that the advantage of gaining Rested bonuses is still missing, but also the Beast Form power has been stripped away. Both advantages from being either werewolf or not are stripped away, and the disadvantages continue to plague me. MOTHER FUCKER.
  • If you happen to find a copy of ‘Arcana Restored’ and have not received a quest asking you to retrieve it yet, DO NOT PICK THAT SON OF A BITCH UP! The problem is you’ll end up with it in your inventory, and you can’t get rid of it because it is marked as a quest item, and when you finally do get a quest related to the book, you are instructed to go find the book that you already have, and can’t just hand it over, like a normal person would. I intended to role play a large, strong, heavily bearded Nord, not a retard who doesn’t know how to get a book out of his knapsack. MOTHER FUCKER.
  • Finally, most importantly if you are playing on Xbox 360 and you’re an achievement whore like myself, if you’re looking to get the ‘Oblivion Walker’ achievement, STOP PLAYING RIGHT NOW AND PAY CLOSE ATTENTION! This achievement requires you to collect all 15 daedric items available in the game that become available to you upon the completion of all daedric quests. What this means is that if you do not complete each quest TO THE LETTER in order to receive the goods, YOU ARE FUCKED. I completed each quest as required, and received every item I needed, except for… one. Only one. And now I’m fucked. The quest in question is ‘A Daedra’s Best Friend’, in which you have to follow a talking dog to the Shrine of Clavicus Vile, and eventually either kill the dog using the axe provided to you, or spare him and return the axe to the shrine, which rewards you with a mask. If you choose to kill the dog instead of spare him, YOU ARE FUCKED. The Rueful Axe is not a required item and therefore all that work will not net you this achievement. Meaning that if I personally want these 30 points, I will have to go back with a new character and probably play another 20-30 hours very, very carefully. Fuck that. I am a completionist, but I’m not insane. I have things to do.

So heed my warning, folks. Awesome game, but a little bit of a pain in the arse.