Tags

, ,

confused_guyDear Reader, it is with a heavy heart that I must retire my weekly reviews of Community, at least for now. The reason? I just can’t work up enough energy and passion to talk about it. Despite the firing of showrunner Dan Harmon at the end of last season, I was still super excited for Community to come back. The writing staff, and of course the cast, remained largely untouched, so I had faith. But man, it’s just not the same. What was once one of the smartest and funniest comedies on television seems to be resting on its laurels, and has lost its spark.

I tried to struggle through. I reviewed the first two episodes, which were good, but not great. I intended to write about the third, but just didn’t have the drive, but thought that I would do mini reviews of the third and fourth together. But now the fourth has passed, and I just can’t do it. Community hasn’t become terrible, by any stretch of the imagination, but it is a long way from being the great show it once was. It’s gotten a bit too sappy, for my liking, that bitterness is gone. The show is equal parts old Community, and Full House. Not a good combination.

So the reviews will be retired for now. Perhaps if the quality picks up, and my love for the show returns to full strength, I will begin again. Until then, my fellow Community fans, let’s just hope things improve.

