Tags

, , , , ,

assassinscreediii

So, Dear Reader, I’ve been playing a lot of Assassin’s Creed III recently. I’ve been a huge fan of the series since the first game. I can admit that the original Assassin’s Creed could get really fucking boring in terms of gameplay, but the high concept story, with its present day interaction with Desmond, the travelling into the past via the Animus to relive events of the life of assassin Altaïr, and whatever the fuck was going with the First Civilisation, had me hooked, and it was enough to keep me coming back.

Assassin’s Creed II was a great leap forward. Ezio was a far more interesting character than Altaïr, and the gameplay improved dramatically. Brotherhood and Revelations didn’t do a whole lot to improve on that area, but the trilogy of stories circling around Ezio were bad arse, and the ending of Revelations left me hungry for more.

I was excited for Assassin’s Creed III right from the get go. I wrote a short piece when the reveal trailer was first… ahem, revealed, and it was certainly among my favourite games shown at E3 2012. So I’ve been playing it pretty heavily since getting it, which unfortunately has only been recently, as the life of a married computer technician who has finally moved to the big smoke is met with much busy times, and not much money. But I’ve been going crazy on Connor’s arse since I’ve had him home (Connor is the main character of the game, by the way, he’s not some guy I met at a pub and bought home for sexy time), and I’ve been loving it so far. The gameplay itself hasn’t changed much, and Connor himself is a bit uninteresting, but the story I’ve been dying to see finish has been playing out nicely, and the sections with Desmond in the present day are really fucking cool.

But the point I want to get to, Dear Reader, as you may have guessed from the title of the article, is the glitches I’ve been experiencing. Don’t get me wrong, they don’t take away from the overall experience, I merely want to share them as I found them quite amusing. Also, I’ve been playing on PC, so I don’t know if these exact same problems exist on the Xbox 360 and PS3 versions, but here they are nonetheless.

assassinscreedhairOne of the first things that happened once I started the game, in the very first cutscene, was that the hair colour on the characters were… funky. I think it might be some sort of issue related to the lighting effects in the game, because when the light hits the hair from certain angles, it changed character’s hair colour to gree, pink, bright red, all sorts of crazy shit. I even rescued on bearded man whose hair on his head and his beard were entirely flouro green for a whole cutscene! Unfortunately, I didn’t have Fraps open at the time to screenshot that, so you’ll have to make do with the above picture, which shows some crazy redness in this character’s beard.

And then, there was this:

On my way to meet Sam Adams, roaming through Boston, I was climbing near the side of a building… and proceeded to fall into the bulding itself, trapped inside. I had to quit and reload the game after several minutes of trying to escape. It wasn’t all bad though. I did get a kick out of being stuck inside there, but somehow managing to bump into and annoy a guy who was standing outside the building. Good times.

As I say, although there are these odd abnormalities, Assassin’s Creed III is still a great game, and things like this sometimes add to the enjoyment of the game. I still remember fondly playing GTA: Vice City on the Playstation 2, and on the second island, if you tried to run up a certain set of stairs, you would fall through the map itself, be stuck floating or falling or I don’t know what inside of some kind of horrible Limbo, and eventually, die for an unexplained reason. I tried YouTubing this exact glitch, but unfortunately found nothing. But man, I would do that shit over and over and it never got old.

So, Dear Reader, what have you been playing lately? And do you have any glitches that you would like to share?

